COPPUL Scholarly Communication Working Group - meeting - October 6, 2014, 3:15-4:00 (MST) via Skype Agenda

Present:

Inba Kehoe, University of Victoria; Andrew Waller, University of Calgary; Marinus Swanepoel, University of Lethbridge; Carol Shepstone, Mount Royal University; Christina Winter, University of Regina

Regrets: Michael Hohner, University of Winnipeg; Leah Vanderjagt, University of Alberta,

1. Welcome and Minute Taker

2. Approval of the minutes

Postponed to next meeting

3. New chair - Christina volunteered until Feb 2015

4. New members

Andrew is off the committee because of new role as COPPUL Executive Director Leah V - will stay on till December 2015
Christina - will be on the committee until Feb 2015
Inba - will step down after October meeting.
Marinus - will stay on the committee till June 2015
Michael - will stay on the committee till June or August 2015

5. Staggering of member terms

Andrew as Ex Dir. will put out a call for new members within the next 2 weeks Need to bring on 6 new members with the intention to stagger members Need to have a member from each province

6. Changes to the terms of reference

Andrew report to the Directors Was approved

7. COPPUL response to the draft policy position for the Awards to Scholarly Publications Program (ASPP) from the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences

Marinus, Andrew and Inba drafted a response A few changes made by COPPUL Directors and submitted.

8. COPPUL OA sponsorship

Carol, Inba and Marinus met about the submissions and recommended awards to UBC $\,$ \$900 and U of A $\,$ \$500

- 9. Other business
- 10. Next meeting