OER Committee Members

Erin Fields is the Open Education and Scholarly Communications at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver campus. Erin is currently the Lead for the Council of Prairie and Pacific University Libraries (COPPUL) Open Education Working Group and was the Open Education Visiting Program Officer for the Canadian Association of Research Libraries (CARL/ABRC) in 2019-2020. She is the recipient of the 2018 Award of Excellence in Open Education and the Open Education Research & Advocacy Fellowship with BCcampus. Erin was also one of the 2019 UBC Open Educational Resource Champion recipients, a recognition from the UBC Vancouver Alma Mater Society, the VP Academic and Provost, and UBC Library. She lives and works on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam) First Nation.

Christina Winter is the Copyright and Scholarly Communications Librarian at the University of Regina and is the Chair of the COPPUL Scholarly Communications Working Group.


Janice Winkler is the Open Educational Resources Librarian at the University of Manitoba. Her work focuses on supporting instructors and building partnerships to foster OER engagement at her institution. She has served in various roles at the UM over the past 5 years, and has brought an interest in supporting students and passion for access to education to her work in OE.

Dan Cockcroft is the OER Librarian at Athabasca University, where he is focused on promoting the adoption of open resources and increasing awareness around open licensing. He is especially interested in the open-source movement and open technologies for building and sharing OER. Dan holds a MLIS and Digital Humanities degree from the University of Alberta.

Profile Photo

Brad Doerksen is the Student Success Librarian at the University of Regina. His role involves supporting library programs and services for undergraduate students and liaison to other academic support units on campus. Advocating for the creation and use of OER is one of the ways Brad seeks to support the educational success of undergraduates.