Phase 6 Working Group


The SPAN Phase 6 Working Group is responsible for supporting the development and implementation of a shared print archive for Western Canadian topographic maps. Activities include selecting materials for inclusion in the archive, developing procedures for the physical validation / inventory of the materials, the creation or enhancement of catalogue records (as required to support the retention commitment data), and the registration of the retained materials in the OCLC Shared Print Registry.


Representation of 3-4 members from full COPPUL member institutions. Individuals will have experience and/or interest in cartographic collections, cartographic materials cataloguing and their intersection with shared print archives. When possible, membership will consist of a balance of experts and those who wish to expand their knowledge. Representation from each province is also preferred but not mandatory.

The term of service is 1 year (renewable for a second year), and will be posted on the COPPUL website by the Executive Director.

The COPPUL SPAN Coordinator and the COPPUL SPAN assistant will serve as ex officio members.

Calls for new members will be made by the Executive Director in December of each year and communicated broadly across the membership. New members nominations, including self-nominations, are subject to nomination by the committee members. The Board approves all new nominations.


  • Grace O’Hanlon, Chair, University of Manitoba – until February 2023
  • Daniel Brendle-Moczuk, University of Victoria – until February 2023
  • Larry LaLiberté, University of Alberta – until February 2023
  • Peter Peller, University of Calgary – until February 2023
  • Rhys Stevens, University of Lethbridge – until February 2023
  • Evan Thornberry, University of British Columbia – until February 2023
  • SPAN Coordinator – tbd, ex officio
  • Trish Chatterley, ex officio
Terms of ReferenceMinutes

Reports to Directors