Open Educational Resources Standing Committee


The Open Educational Resources Standing Committee is a sub-committee of the Collections Community. Members are responsible for connecting with existing groups (committees, working groups and communities) that span COPPUL’s three strategic pillars: Indigenous Knowledge; Collections - Scholarly Communications and Shared Print; and Digital Stewardship. Its role is to identify and understand the intersections between these groups and make recommendations to the Board and Directors on Open Educational Resource initiatives. Specifically, this group will

  • make connections between existing COPPUL groups to understand issues and opportunities related to Open Educational Resources that arise within those groups,
  • provide pathways to Open Educational Resource initiatives to existing COPPUL initiatives (E.g., WestVault, Archivematica, and Indigenous historical publications digitization).
  • make and prioritize recommendations to the COPPUL Board and Directors on Open Educational Resource initiatives that COPPUL could pursue based on feedback from all COPPUL groups.


In order to benefit from the deep knowledge and experience of COPPUL committee members that represent COPPUL’s three strategic areas, the following groups will be invited to nominate a representative from their group to sit on the OER Standing Committee: the Collections Community; the Digital Stewardship Network Standing Committee; the Scholarly Communications Working Group; the Shared Print Standing Committee, and the Indigenous Knowledge Standing Committee. Regular participation is not mandatory. To provide knowledge and context, the committee will also normally be made up of two librarians with Open Educational Resource experience to help inform the discussions. In the event that committees are unable to commit a representative from their group, documents arising from this committee will be made available to all COPPUL groups on the COPPUL shared drive to give each group an opportunity to view and comment on topics and recommendations arising out of this committee.
Where possible representation will be balanced between province and size of institution.

The term of service is two years (once renewable), and will be posted on the COPPUL website by the Executive Director. In the first year of operation, half the terms of service will be three years to allow the members’ terms to be staggered.

The COPPUL Executive Director and one COPPUL Coordinator will serve as ex officio members.

Calls for new members will be made by the Executive Director in September/October of each year and communicated broadly across the membership. New member nominations, including self-nominations, are subject to nomination by the committee members. The Board approves all new nominations.


  • Dan Cockcroft, Athabasca University (March 2022 – TBD)
  • Erin Fields, University of British Columbia, Chair (March 2022 – TBD)
  • Lauren Stieglitz, University of Alberta (March 2022 – TBD)
  • Janice Winkler, University of Manitoba (March 2022 – TBD)
  • Brad Doerksen, University of Regina (April 2022 – March 2024)
  • COPPUL Executive Director (ex officio)
Terms of ReferenceMinutes